top of page


The Five Principles of Karma Yoga






A Karma Yogi is a person who stays fully engaged in the world. 


Understanding the Five Principles of Karma Yoga defines the inner attitude of a Karma Yogi. 


The Five Principles of Karma Yoga based on the teachings of Bhagavad Gita are 

Karma, Dharma, Prasada Buddhi, Vairagya, and Moksha



  • Moksha in Sanskrit means freedom from the cycle of birth and re-birth or spiritual enlightenment.


    When moksha becomes the goal, our actions will be for spiritual growth.


    In Vedic texts, the four Purusharthas, meaning the aims of human pursuit towards spiritual growth, are Kama, Artha, Dharma, and Moksha.


    Kama means pleasure, our desire to experience love, beauty, and delight.


    Artha means wealth, the material security we need to survive and prosper.


    Dharma means duty or morality, our service to the greater good based on truth and honesty.


    Moksha means liberation. 


    For spiritual growth to occur, we must integrate and balance all four Purusharthas while keeping Dharma as our primary goal.   


    Dharma is necessary for Artha to be meaningful. The abundance of Artha is essential to enjoy Kama. The path to spiritual enlightenment is achieved only by the harmonious interaction of Dharma, Artha, and Kama. Liberation or Moksha is the supreme or the highest bliss. Every action we take can be and should be to develop the process of spiritual growth, which is understanding the truth of ourselves while living in a world faced with challenges and ignorance.



    Mixed Media on hardboard panel


    Image Size

    6" H x 6" W 


    The artwork is original and signed. The painting is varnished for protection, wired, and ready to hang, and comes with a sleek custom black floater frame that is 1.5 inches deep. 

bottom of page